Metropolitan Planning Council and Brookings Institution Webinar

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

2 to 3 p.m. CST
3 to 4 p.m. EST
Noon to 1 p.m. PST

Participants will receive webinar log-in information upon registration.
Register by emailing info@brickllc.com

The new Brookings Institution book, Confronting Suburban Poverty in America, surprised many audiences with its revelation that more people live in poverty in suburbs than in our nation’s inner cities. As local leaders and national policymakers grapple with the implications of these demographic shifts, the book offers a number of recommendations to address this challenge through innovative new partnerships—and spotlights the importance of “quarterbacks” in various metropolitan areas doing just that.

In Chicagoland, clusters of neighboring suburbs are collaborating with one another and groups like the nonprofit Metropolitan Planning Council to advance targeted housing and economic development plans.Their story is featured in the book. Similarly, collaboration among regional organizations in the Greater Boston area reflects the kind of innovative partnerships and momentum underway throughout the country that can help American communities effectively respond to these demographic changes at the right scale. These initiatives provide new strategies for planning and data analysis, community engagement, foreclosure response and prevention, transit-oriented development and more.

Policymakers, community leaders, planners and others are invited to join us for a free webinar on this critical topic, “Scaling Suburban Community Development Solutions through Collaborative New Strategies,” on Tuesday, June 18 (3 pm EST, 2 pm CST, Noon PST). Please register by emailing info@brickllc.com.

Elizabeth Kneebone, Brookings Institution Fellow and book co-author, will be joined by two of the nation’s leading policy quarterbacks:

  • MarySue Barrett, President, Chicago’s Metropolitan Planning Council
  • Andre Leroux, Executive Director, Massachusetts Smart Growth Alliance

Robin Snyderman, BRicK Partners, LLC and Brookings Institution Non-Resident Senior Fellow, will facilitate the conversation.

Please register today by emailing info@brickllc.com. Participants will receive webinar log-in information via email upon registration.

Leave a Reply