Quick Facts:

  • Miami-Dade County was created in 1836, under the Territorial Act of the United States. It was named after Major Francis Dade, a soldier who was killed in the Second Seminole War.
  • The County is home to 35 incorporated cities, including the City of Miami, which is the County seat and its largest city.
  • In 2010 Miami-Dade County had a population of 2,496,435 people, making it the most populous county in Florida and the eighth-most populous in the United Sates.
  • The County is over 2400 square miles, including 84 miles of coastline, 22 miles of beaches, and 67 miles of inland waterways.
  • Miami is the only metropolitan area in the Country that borders two national parks: Biscayne National Park and Everglades National Park.

In Photos: